Jay-Z’s long overdue for a greatest hits collection. Actually, he’s one of those artists whose hitmaking proficiency has been so prolific that one disc isn’t gonna be able to contain all of his worthwhile material.

Well, the track listing for Jigga’s long-overdue “The Hits Collection Vol. 1” surfaced on amazon.com yesterday, and as a Jay-Z fan, I’m kinda nonplussed. If you think about it, though, the track listing kinda makes sense from a “truth in advertising” perspective. Let’s split hairs-this is a “greatest hits” collection and not a “best of” collection. The tracks included are Jay’s biggest hits-even despite a stream of top-selling albums, his success on the pop chart has been spotty. While a “best of” collection should (and probably would) include more songs that appeal to his core fan base, this compilation appears to have been made more to satisfy the casual pop fans. That said, the second disc (containing several tracks that have not been commercially available previously) might cause me to drop coin on this album, even though I own every one of Jay’s studio albums. Sigh.

Track listing after the jump…

Jay-Z “The Hits Collection, Vol. 1”: Disc One

1. Public Service Announcement (Interlude)
2. Run This Town featuring Rihanna & Kanye West
3. ’03 Bonnie & Clyde featuring BeyoncĂ©
4. Encore
5. I Just Wanna Love U (Give It 2 Me)
6. Izzo (H.O.V.A.)
7. D.O.A. (Death of Auto-Tune)
8. 99 Problems
9. Empire State Of Mind featuring Alicia Keys
10. Dirt Off Your Shoulder
11. Hard Knock Life (Ghetto Anthem)
12. Show Me What You Got
13. Roc Boys (And The Winner Is)…
14. Big Pimpin’
Disc: 2
1. Young Gifted and Black
2. Pump It Up (Freestyle)
3. My President Is Black (Remix)
4. Go Hard Remix – Jay-Z, Kanye West & T-Pain
5. Most Kings feat. Green Lantern

Incoming search terms:

  • jay z suit
  • jigga
  • Jay-z suit
Be Sociable, Share!