The cover of Eminem's new album, "The Marshall Mathers LP 2."

The cover of Eminem’s new album, “The Marshall Mathers LP 2.”

Eminem’s latest studio album, The Marshall Mathers LP 2, is scheduled for release on November 5th.

To whet fans’ appetite for the album (which has already spawned hit singles with “Berserk” and “Survival,” Em and his label, Interscope, released the track listing to the public.

I’m not sure how much you can glean specifically from the song titles, but nothing suggests Eminem is turning over a new leaf lyrically or topically.

Guests on the album are pretty much pulling from the pool of artists close to him: Rihanna returns for the second straight album. Skylar Grey (who wrote the previous Rihanna collabo, “Love The Way You Lie,”) also appears on the album, as does fun.’s Nate Ruess. The only other emcee to appear on the album is Dr. Dre associate Kendrick Lamar.

I gotta say—I’m pretty damn unexcited about this record. Where Eminem might have been a blind purchase for me at one point in his career, he’s hardly that now. I don’t see Marshall holding my interest for an entire album, especially when he’s spent most of the past decade recycling themes from his first three albums. I guess we’ll see in a month or so whether he’s capable of evolving.

Here’s the tracklisting:

“Bad Guy”
“Parking Lot (Skit)”
“Rhyme or Reason”
“So Much Better”
“Asshole” featuring Skylar Grey
“Rap God”
“Stronger Than I Was”
“Monster” featuring Rihanna
“So Far . . .”
“Love Game” featuring Kendrick Lamar
“Headlights” featuring Nate Ruess
“Evil Twin”

Be Sociable, Share!