Album_Nothing_Was_The_Same_Deluxe_coverIt’s our first “New Release Report” back after a short hiatus and we’re as excited to be here as you are to be reading us on a regular basis again. And what better way to kick off a new release week, the first week of autumn, with some major new releases!

Drake is back with his third opus entitled Nothing Was The Same which sees the Canadian hip-hop swooner continually climbing that mountain while riding high on top of three successful singles (“Started From The Bottom”, “All Me”, and “Hold On, We’re Going Home”) that preceded the full-length.

On the other Pop spectrum is Kings Of Leon who return with Mechanical Bull and lead off single “Supersoaker” which our own KBOX reviewed here. Is MB destined to follow the path of Come Around Sundown and the breakout Only by the Night? Stay tuned to this space for KBOX’s review…

Then there’s the ladies! Not only does this week bring us a new album by Cher, whose Closer to the Truth (Her first in 12 years!) album features guest verses  and songwriting from Pink, Timbaland, and Paul Oakenfold, but also from Hope Sandoval and the reactivated Mazzy Star who release Season of Your Day, their fourth overall and first in almost 17 years!

On the heavier side of things, keep your ears peeled for new albums by Touche Amore, Jesu, and the ultimate thrash masters Metallica and Megadeth who release a soundtrack to a “concert” film and a live performance of a concert respectively. Yeah, I’m confused too.

Oh, and some band who single-handedly ushered in the grunge-era is releasing a 20th Anniversary edition of some album named In Utero this week.

As usual, head on over to Pause & Play for a complete list of the week’s releases and then head back here next week when we look at JT’s second album of the year and some heaviness from Max Cavalera’s Soulfly and the new project from Slipknot drummer Joey Jordison.

Be Sociable, Share!